In Spite of You

16 Jul

In spite of you, I have grown into a confident wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend. Not only do I know that I deserve respect and love, I demand it; although the demand never has to be made since I am the kind of person that has earned the respect and love of those I surround myself with. I am married to a man who loves me and respects me more than any THING on this earth and who has shown me what it really is to be a husband and father.

In spite of you, my two brothers have grown into incredible, loving MEN with hearts the size of mountains. To say that they are kind, loving, fun to be around, honest, intelligent, handsome, and full of life would be only scratching the surface. Should they choose to have families of their own, I know that they will be exemplary fathers and husbands, in spite of you.

Despite what you think, I have an amazing mother who has come to be one of my most cherished friends. She has taught me what it really is to be a wife and mother; selfless, loving, smart, funny, and beautiful right down to her core. I could never that her enough for what she has done to make me who I am today, in spite of you.

I will live my life and enjoy every waking moment in it. I will cherish every laugh, learn from the tears, and relish every moment I have with my children; for they are what my life is about now. My children will grow up and grow old knowing, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that they were always what gave my life meaning.

I will always recognize my faults for what they are, my faults and no one else’s. Never will I place the blame for my shortcomings on the shoulders of others. Instead, I will accept my weaknesses and learn to become a better person in spite of them; in spite of you.

2 Responses to “In Spite of You”

  1. Kat HatesAllstate July 16, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

  2. drobinson@comtrangroup.com July 16, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    That was beautiful and exactly how you should view yourself. You are a goddess I love and am lucky to have you.

Leave a Reply

