Here’s to me….

5 Apr

It’s official! The Simon and Garfunkel song is now about me because I am the world’s newest Mrs. Robinson!

To say that my wedding day went off without a hitch would be an understatement. It was perfect. It was beyond perfect. It was more than I expected and better than I could have ever imagined.

Saturday began with an everything bagel. Well, technically it was a plain bagel with everything “seeds” sprinkled all over the cream cheese, but it was still good! As is usually the case on a wedding day (from what I’ve heard) I barely got half the bagel in me before it was time to get going and get ready. First stop was the nail salon for manis and pedis with two of my favorite women in the world… my wifey (Kat) and my taterbug. Taylor sat so still and was such a big girl getting her nails done. Luckily I didn’t have any make-up on because Kat showed me the status update Daniel had posted talking about he was winning the “life lottery” that day. See why I married him?

After nails, it was time to get my hair done. Easy and simple with lots of curls and lightly pinned back from my face. From there, it was on to make-up with Dawn at MAC so I had to start keeping the tears at bay.

Once all my preparations were done, I had just enough time to go back to get everything loaded up and get to the venue on time. And then, the rockstar treatment began!

My photographer (and wonderful friend) Larry showed up and began setting up at the same time that the venue’s amazing staff started getting me whatever I needed.

But, first things first. The maid-of-honor needed to be given her present (a beautifully delicate bracelet of interlocking hearts crusted on alternating sides with diamonds) for being such an amazing woman. If you ever get the chance to meet my wifey, consider yourself lucky. She is one of the most amazing, intelligent, funny, gennuine, honest, big-hearted people on this planet and I am lucky to call her a friend. I think she liked it, at least that’s what the smile on her face and the tears in her eyes told me. đŸ™‚

I’m gonna fast forward now to the reception. Also simple. And very quick. The minister read an excerpt from Union that I had found and I could not take my eyes off of my almost husband. To say that he looked good would be an insult. He was probably glowing as much as I was at the thought of what we were finally doing. Kissing him for the first time as my husband was one of the happiest moments of my life. If I am ever given the chance to go back to one moment in time, it will be that moment over, and over, and over.

The reception was, without a doubt, the most fun I have had in a while. Good food, great music, and the most amazing people in the world… all wrapped together to celebrate my husband and I.

I could do it all over again. I’m still living in the glow from that day. Even though he and I have been together a little over 5 and a half years and we have two kids, I feel like a newlywed. He’s my husband now, and I don’t think I could ask for anything more.

One Response to “Here’s to me….”

  1. Beautiful Life of Traveling Wife April 5, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    Oh my goodness! So glad you are very happy in your new lot in life! Sounds like it was everything you dreamed it would be a more. Now you get to live your happily ever after and that is THE best part of everything! Have fun being a MRS.!

Leave a Reply

