Checklists make me happy

7 Mar

As we all know, I have been planning my wedding and to say it has been a roller coaster ride would be a gross understatement. It all started a year ago when my mom and my hubby-to-be told me to start planning. I was really in the dumps about us not being married yet and they were telling me to start planning to help me get out of the yucky place I was in. So, I started planning and started the roller coaster ride that I’ve been on for the past year or so.

The downs sucked: not knowing if the money was going to be there, not being able to afford my *dream* dress, not knowing if the money was going to be there, having to push the date back. But the highs have been amazing: finally paying the venue in full; finding a dress that, while it isn’t my *dream* dress, is amazing and makes me look that way too; and the check marks on my checklists…. oooooh how they make me happy.

I have been terrified during this whole planning process, and to be honest, I still am terrified that the big day will come and I will have forgotten something important. I scoured the internet looking for a comprehensive checklist that I could trust. I’m pretty sure I found it… Actually, I HOPE I found it because I have been looking that list over like it’s the second coming of Jesus.

I think the last big thing to do is for us to go and apply for our marriage license next Friday. Oh, and hair and make-up. Beyond those three things, it’s all details. By this weekend I will know for sure about hair and make-up and, after that, I am coasting along until March 31st when it all comes together.

Some parts of this whole planning thing have been tough, but for the most part, it’s been fun and I cannot wait to see it all come together.

Leave a Reply

