Disappointment is just a part of it.

15 Oct

So, I got a big kick in the nuts yesterday. The money that we were expecting isn’t coming. So, that means no wedding for us. Sure, we can go and get a marriage license and be married, but I’m not going to get my wedding. Our first pick for a wedding date came and went a month ago. Initially we were getting married on September 16th but had to postpone to March 31st because of finances. Now, reality has hit.

We cannot afford a wedding.

And it sucks.

I was looking forward to having that special day that was happy and sparkly and special. And it’s not going to happen.

I know I should look on the brighter side. I know that I have a man that loves me and two amazingly perfect and healthy children and that we CAN get married when there are so many people that cannot get married just because they are a same sex couple.

I know that there are so many things to be thankful for but, right now, I’m gonna wallow a bit.

My mom thinks we should push the date back one more time and maybe it’ll work out this time. I don’t want to go through this again. Planning a wedding is supposed to be something exciting and fun… yes, it can be stressful but it’s supposed to be fun too. This hasn’t been any fun so far and I don’t want to do it anymore. We’ll go and get our piece of paper and we’ll be married and that’ll be it.

4 Responses to “Disappointment is just a part of it.”

  1. Beauitiful Life of Traveling Wife October 15, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    If you make your wedding reception a charity event (meaning no one gives you gifts they give the money to charity) you usually can get food/tables/dj/cars/ and everything donated (it is a tax right off for everyone)……just trying to come up with an idea that maybe all you would have to get is a dress and him in some nice clothes for the actual ceremony.

  2. Constanza October 18, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    I am sorry to hear that! 😦
    You can still have a lovely wedding for little money, give yourself some time to mourn but do not give up! You will find the way. We had a rather cheap wedding and it was honestly beautiful! (we did the idea of people donating money instead of giving us gifts but it really did not work out, not a lot of people donated anything, which made me sad)

    http://sensiblygreen.wordpress.com/

  3. Constanza October 20, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Oh, and I just remembered that it might help you to know that my husband and I got married first by law in a ‘just his family’ deal in his sister’s house. Then we saved for two years and married in a larger event. It might be worth to marry by law, get the tax returs and save that money for your wedding!

  4. Http://Bd-Short.Com/741 July 9, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    You are so interesting! I don’t think I have read through anything like this before. So great to discover somebody with genuine thoughts on this subject matter. Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is one thing that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality!

Leave a Reply

