Should I or Shouldn’t I?

14 Oct

I’m no writer… I’ve already made that abundantly clear. I am friends with writers and the ideas that come from their minds blow me away. One of my friends has actually written one book (fiction) and a book of her blogs that you can find . The novel she wrote last year during NaNoWriMo.

NaNoWriMo stand for National Novel Writing Month and the goal is to write 50,000 words of new material during the month of November. Last year I was amazed at how excited and dedicated my friend, Nina, was to get the ideas out of her head and on paper. During a visit to her house, she showed me the various outlines and print-outs and notes that she had made for the purpose of getting this novel written. And she did it. She “won” NaNoWriMo (you win when you complete the 50K) goal. She spent the next few months editing and re-editing until she was blue in the face and the end result is amazing.

As this November approaches I think, should I? I’ve said numerous times that I don’t consider myself a “writer” but, I do have ideas in my head that seem like good ideas to me. But 50,000 words? It seems kind of daunting. That’s only a little more than 1,500 words a day which doesn’t seem too bad but, I don’t know if I could manage it for a whole month.

I think I’m going to do it, mainly to see if I can. It is stressed that you don’t edit at all. The goal is to get the words down and worry about any kind of editing later. If I do decide to do it, y’all need to cheer me on, ok?

One Response to “Should I or Shouldn’t I?”

  1. Beauitiful Life of Traveling Wife October 15, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Yes, do it! I will be here waiting to give you a boost 🙂 GO GIRL!

Leave a Reply

