Friday is my favorite day…

3 Sep

So, when you’re young, Friday becomes your favorite day because it’s the beginning of the weekend; two glorious days where you don’t have to put up with those know-it-alls who call themselves teachers.

You get a little older and Friday becomes your favorite day because it signifies the beginning of your weekend where you don’t have to put up with those know-it-alls who call themselves your bosses.

Then, you enter a murky area of your life. Where everyday runs together and sometimes, you catch yourself not knowing what month it is. That’s called motherhood. And if you’re a back-to-back mommy, like I am, it’s even worse. Since you have lost track of what day of the week it is, it’s kinda hard to have a favorite.

Taylor just finished her second week of pre-K and Friday is starting to become a favorite again. When she’s tired on Friday morning, I explain to her that she just needs to make it through one more day and she’ll have a two day break, or a three day break as is the case this weekend. But, as I teach her about making Friday her favorite day, I realize that Friday has been my favorite day for a while now.

Daniel is a project manager and he’s away from home during the week. The company he works for has put him up in an adorable cabin with a catfish pond right next to it so, I know he’s comfortable, but he’s not HOME. But, on Friday, he comes back. I hadn’t realized how much I was looking forward to Friday again until now.

My aunt used to sing this funny song when I was little;

“Friday, Friday, Friday is my favorite day.

Monday is a bummer.

Tuesday’s only fair.

Wednesday’s getting ready.

Thursday’s almost there but,

Friday, Friday, Friday is my favorite day”

I love my man. And I love Fridays… again!

P.S. Rebecca Black can suck it.

Leave a Reply

