Back-to-back Mommy

30 Aug

I have heard all sorts of different terms that women use to describe themselves as mothers and their form of parenting. There’s helicopter and lawnmower parents, there’s free-range parenting. There’s authoritarian, authoritative, permissive, uninvolved; there are pushovers and overachievers and backseaters and there are hoverers and hipsters. But non of these is me.

At the time that I became pregnant with my daughter I was kind of a party girl who didn’t have it in her immediate plans to become a mommy. My friends were excited for me when they found out I was pregnant but it was definitely a shocker. Then, when I told them I was pregnant with my second, only three months after the first had been born, that was when they were more open with the lol’ing. My wifey especially. It seemed that every time I called her she had a giggle in her voice. But who could blame her… if that shit had happened to someone else I would’ve been laughing too!

So yeah, I’m not a soccer mom; I’m not a desperate housewife; I’m not even a domestic goddess.

But I am a back-to-back mommy.

A back-to-back mommy is of a different breed. We’re not like mothers of multiples, which, by the way, I am not downplaying in the slightest.

Back-to-back mommies struggle with morning sickness and newborn baby diapers at the same time. We handle potty training one and helping one to walk in such quick succession that it feels like they’re happening at the same time. We cope with one starting school and one being “left behind”. 

Even with all the craziness that comes with being a back-to-back mommy. I wouldn’t have it any other way. I love that my children will always have each other to lean on and argue with. I get excited by the idea of them being there for each other and helping each other in school. Even the prospect of the drama that comes with them being so close in age makes me laugh. 

I love being a back-to-back mommy.

 

2 Responses to “Back-to-back Mommy”

  1. Deanna September 2, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    I remember Kat’s giggle when you found out you were preggers again. She was giggling like a lunatic!

    • Rosangela Viana September 3, 2011 at 12:40 am #

      Yeah she was. I honestly think that, whens he saw it was me on the caller ID, she’d start laughing and have to compose herself before she answered the phone.

Leave a Reply

